Book 16: The Cold, Cold Ground

Definitely worth a read!

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ This one hits close to home for me because my inlaws live in Northern Ireland. I’ve heard stories, but as an American, it’s really hard to understand the conflict, The Troubles as they call it. I’ve always loved books based in Ireland, always, even before I married an Irishman. We read about a “Peeler” (a cop) who is Irish Catholic, which traditionally, is left to the Prods and the English. Because he’s a Catholic, he’s a legitimate target for the IRA and other groups. In fact, he’s everybody’s target, but that won’t stop him from solving his cases. From what I understand, the scenes seem pretty real, like how it really was in those dark days.

If you’re interested in Ireland, The Troubles and enjoy a good cop book, pick this one. Or, better yet, listen to it via the Audio version. The Irish born narrator Gerrard Doyle brings this one to life. The good news is that there are at least two more books to read in The Troubles series. Thanks Adrian McKinty!

 

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Book 19: I Hear The Sirens In The Street | AdVerb Creative
  2. Heather

    This book sounds great! I love books about Ireland and even though I have a hard time understanding the troubles there, I enjoy reading and learning about it. Thanks for sharing, I hadn’t heard of this one!

  3. Pingback: Book 36: In The Morning I’ll Be Gone | AdVerb Creative
  4. Pingback: Gun Street Girl by Adrian McKinty | AdVerb Creative

Leave a comment