Week 33: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

♥ ♥ + This book was a very slow starter for me. In fact, I decided to quit listening about an hour in. I tried to switch audio books, but the one I went to had a glitch and wouldn’t play. So, reluctantly, I returned to this book. Luckily, it picked up and got a bit more interesting. The narrator, also the author, was pretty monotone which I think really hurt this audio version of this book. The story was okay and had it’s moments where I was really interested and my imagination was tapped. There were other times where I drifted away and didn’t care enough to rewind to see what I missed. This is one of the oh, so rare occasions when I think it might have been better to read it with my own voice in my head. This book is VERY highly rated on Audible.com, so I’m not sure what I missed.

Leave a comment