Book 14: The Invention of Wings

A Great Book

A Great Book

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ Wow. I just grabbed this one because of its ratings, and it did not disappoint. Since I finished this, I’ve been thinking, even having vivid dreams, about it. Slavery, a terrible blight on our National History, was brutal and to me, unthinkable. I often imagine what it would have been like to have been alive and a part of it — on either side. Of course, one side is obviously worse than the other, but is it? What if you were born into a family of slave holders? What if you knew, even as a small child, that it was absolutely wrong, but could do nothing to change it then? In this tale, we see two sides of one coin. I love the characters, bold and strong, even the ones I despised. I loved listening to the author’s note at the end about how she came to write about these people, and which parts were fictionalized and which were told as close to the history as possible. Fascinating and well worth a read or listen. No wonder it was an Oprah’s book club pick.

Leave a Reply

