Week 10: The Dog Stars

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ In addition to a good story-line, interesting characters and thought inducing situations, this book is full of beautiful and descriptive language. I love language, words and descriptions, I really do, but at times I felt bogged down. Weighted. Stunted. I listened to this on Audio book so I did not have the ability to skim the big sections of adjectives, which admittedly, were part of the story. The character Hig, had nothing but time. He had the luxury of wallowing, languishing almost in the description of a moment, or a thought. I, however, did not have all the time in the world, and though part of me loved the language, the rest of me wanted him to get on with the story. What does that say about me? Maybe it has to do with lamentations in the book of how one character saw her life before as “waiting” for the right moment, when maybe it was the moment. Maybe I’m hurrying too much in my life, or maybe it just is my life. Either way, I’m glad I took the time to listen because I enjoyed this book.

Leave a Reply

