Behind the Bars: Our Penal System’s Broken?

I don’t know if it’s broken completely, but I think that it may be bent. It will be hard to straighten out, but being conscious is a first step. I read the book Orange is the New Black earlier this year. I reviewed it and talked about how it made me think about our penal system and ponder, for just a second, about who is in there and how they got there. If you haven’t read the book, I highly recommend it. I definitely recommend watching this video of Piper Kerman speaking about her experience and quoting some numbers about how many people we had incarcerated in the 80’s and how many we have behind bars now.

It costs so much money to feed, house and clothe these people who are in for non-violent crimes. I wonder how many of those people we would choose as a collective nation to keep there if we could hear their individual stories? Something to think about from the comfort of your home or office. It’s a conundrum to be sure and quite possibly it’s one you haven’t given much thought to.

Leave a Reply

