Week 34: Night

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ This book is personal. and not just because it is autobiographical. I am not Jewish, but I sometimes say that I’m half Jewish. My best friend growing up (like since birth) was Jewish. One of her grandparents, or maybe a great grandparent had their Holocaust tattoo and didn’t really talk about it. Maybe because we were so young? We were pretty much inseparable then. My best friend died two years ago of ALS, leaving a son and grieving family. I take stones to her grave in the Jewish tradition. What a beautiful tradition.

So, this story, this history, ripped into my heart. Told in first person from a 16-year-old boy’s perspective, Elie Wisel tells the story of being a Jew from the beginning of the Holocaust to the end. I decided to read it because my son had read it last year for school, and it was already in my audio library. He said it was good, but brutal. He was so right. All I can say is, read it. You need to know. I plan to read the next two books in the trilogy as well. I need to know.

Weisel was awarded not only the Nobel Peace Prize, but also the Congressional Gold Medal.

2 comments

  1. Don Thigpen

    I read Elie Wiesel’s books years ago and was similarly affected. Don’t know if you’ve ever seen him speak, but he’s a soft-spoken but passionate individual whose diminutive demeanor actually accentuates his message. He, along with Winston Churchill, are among my list of most heroic figures of the 20th century.

Leave a Reply

